How to read MIFARE DesFire EV1 iwth ISO ADPU/PCSC?

Forum / MIFARE general topics and applications / How to read MIFARE DesFire EV1 iwth ISO ADPU/PCSC?

• 23. August 2017 at 17:36
    Hi,

I'm quite new to PCSC, so I'm a little lost right now. I've managed to read out a Mifare Classic card using PCSC with ISO ADPU commands. Now I'm in the need of adding Mifare DESFire EV1 cards with AES key. I have the key, the application id, file id and what to read. Can I accomplish that with any publically available documentation? I always read that the DESFire support ISO ADPUs command. I've managed to read out the card using the reader's software (FEIG CPR40.30) but I need to access the reader via PCSC to allow different vendors.

Any help is very much appreciated!
    Markus

+ 0  |  - 0

Re: How to read MIFARE DesFire EV1 iwth ISO ADPU/PCSC?

24. August 2017 at 11:12
    Hi Markus,

You can read the MIFARE DESFire via PC/SC reader. But in most cases you need to consider different reader manufacturers. This depend of different implementation of PC/SC driver library. It could be that the MIFARE DESFire commands are wrapped inside of other APDU commands and the kind of wrapping is different from one reader manufacturer to another.

The TapLinx team

+ 0  |  - 0

24. August 2017 at 11:17
    Hi!

Thanks for the quick reply. So, where's then the advantage of using PCSC if I still need vendor specific wrappings? Also, where can I get some code? I only managed to read out Classic cards. I don't find any documents about how to authenticate and read blocks out of DesFire cards using ISO commands. According to the manufacturers, DESFire supports ISO command as long as it comes to standard operations.

Thanks,
    Markus

+ 0  |  - 0

24. August 2017 at 12:52
    Hi Markus,

If you use ISO7816-4 compliant commands with the MIFARE DESFire, you should be independent of the reader manufacturer. You will find the available commands in the public DESFire datasheet: