Help understanding what is what in the nfc ecosystem

Forum / MIFARE general topics and applications / Help understanding what is what in the nfc ecosystem

• 4. April 2018 at 18:53
    Hi,

i'm new to NFC and i have a bit of confusion about what is what. Mi goal is to use MIFARE Classic/Plus cards with mobile phones.

If i understand correctly:

THE FIRST thing to consider is the chipset the phone has. There are phones with an NXP chipset and these read cards without problem. There are other phones (ex: Samsung) with Boardcom chipsets. On these i receive a message on the line of "Card type not Supported message".

This last error message is puzzling, because MIFARE cards are ISO-14443 compatible, so they should at least be able to communicate. On Android these readers report the card as an NfcA type (ISO-14443 Type A, i believe). On other phones, Android reports MifareClassic together with NfcA.

Can someone assist me with this to understand the scenario of using MIFARE cards with any mobile (independent of chipset)? I've considered using MIFARE Plus EV1 cards (supposedly compatible, they have an ISO-wrapping mode). Will this work?

-----
    THE SECOND thing to consider are APDU commands. These depend on the actual chipset. The idea here is that APDU's are a method for the application to request the mobile's NFC chip to actually send commands to the contactless card (MIFARE or otherwise). Is this correct?

There is also the problem of "set key" APDUs. I think these are for the mobile's chip. Is this possibly the source of the incompatibility with Boardcom chips of the first point?

-----
    THE THIRD think is Android's support for the cards. Devices with the Boardcom chips do not provide the MifareClassic class. But if they are ISO-14443 compatible, then i understand that despite the lack of this class, i should be able to wrap the commands and "re-create" this native class somehow?

----------